Review: Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks #bookreview #bookblog @GalleryBooks @HeidiPerksBooks

Goodreads Blurb

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

My Thoughts

I actually really loved the start of this story. It was a great storyline to begin with, I know my own heart was in my throat with the disappearance of a child. And I felt so awful for poor Charlotte. I felt the writing was great, it flowed nicely, nothing felt rushed, there wasn’t an info dump, and surprisingly I actually enjoyed the first two chapters where it can usually go wrong. However, there was a change in the feel of the story. Without revealing any of the story line, I’ll just say that there was a change with the twist. I can’t say I can put my finger on what exactly it was, but it changed how I read the book after that and I didn’t enjoy it quite as much. I think that adding the DV into the story was great because it’s something that is talked about/experienced quite a lot. But the twist… I wasn’t a fan of it and it really changed the story for me from then on.

I rated Her One Mistake: 3/5 stars

Happy Reading

Nat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s