REVIEW: Little Darlings By Mellisa Golding #review #bookreview #littledarlings

Blurb

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy’s The Perfect Mother.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own … creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley—to everyone else—but to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, “These are not my babies!”

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw, she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.
Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking—and rechecking—your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

 

My Thoughts

Right, I’ll be brutally honest, I was not a fan of this initially. The best word I could describe it was… weird. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the narrators voice initally, but I gave it a go and I actually ended up liking it.

The story like I said, was weird to me initially, but after about half way I was good with it. The husband was a right, twat. That whole thing with Natasha really irked me about his character and now that I think about it, I don’t think it was really tidied up properly in the end (without spoiling anything for future readers).

I though the first 4 chapters just dragggggggggged on. I can see that the author really wanted to get across how difficult pregnancy and labor is for us, and even once we’ve had the baby it hard, however I think there’s a fine line with how much and how descriptive you can before irking a reader. I’ve always found that the authors who turn that description into dialogue, get a better result because there’s more action for us to follow rather than being stuck in words.

I was a bit confused in the end was there truth in her thoughts, because what about the visit to the nursing/care home and what that woman said? Sounded legit… Ugh giving me headache thinking about it again now LOL

Have you read it? What did you think?

Happy reading

Nat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s